5 Wildcats Earn College Sports Communicators Academic All-District – University of Arizona Athletics – University of Arizona Athletics

offensive lineman Josh Baker (75) - TUCSON, ARIZ. -- Football vs. USC at Arizona Stadium.Oct. 29, 2022. Photo by Mike Christy / Arizona Athletics

Mike Christy / Arizona Athletics

Football Arizona Athletics

TUCSON, Ariz.Josh Baker, Paiton Fears, Seth MacKellar, Roberto Miranda, and Kyle Ostendorp earn 2022 College Sports Communicators Academic All-District. The award recognizes the nation’s top student-athletes for their combined performances on the field and in the classroom.

To be named to the All-District Team, student-athletes must have a cumulative GPA of 3.5 or higher and must have competed in at least 50% of their team’s competitions during the year. They must have additionally completed at least one full calendar year at their current institution. 

Josh Baker and Paiton Fears have been key contributors to the No. 20 nationally-ranked offense of the Arizona Wildcats. These two mainstays on the offensive line have created time for the nation’s fifth-best passing offense to scorch opponents to the tune of 30.2 points per game. With their help, the Wildcats have had two 1,000-plus-yard receivers (Jacob Cowing and Dorian Singer) on the same team for the first time in Arizona football history.

Roberto Miranda has appeared most of the season on special teams helping set up the dynamic offense in the kick return game. Seth MacKellar serves as the team’s long snapper, bringing consistency to a vital position on the line in the kicking game. Kyle Ostendorp has averaged 45.6 yards per punt with a long of 64 yards and 10 inside the 20-yard line.

Academic All-District® honorees advance to the CSC Academic All-America® ballot. First- and second-team Academic All-America® honorees will be announced in late December.

The Division II and III CSC Academic All-America® programs are partially financially supported by the NCAA Division II and III national governance structures to assist CSC with handling the awards fulfillment aspects for the 2022-23 Divisions II and III Academic All-America® programs. The NAIA CSC Academic All-America® program is partially financially supported through the NAIA national office.

Voting for the Academic All-America football teams begins today at noon ET and closes Tuesday, December 6, at 11:59 pm ET. All CSC members are eligible to vote on the ballots in their division. To vote, go to www.collegesportscommunicators.com/awards.

For more information about CSC Academic All-District® and Academic All-America® Teams program, visit AcademicAllAmerica.com.

Name                               School
Josh Baker                      University of Arizona
Paiton Fears                    University of Arizona
Seth MacKellar               University of Arizona
Roberto Miranda            University of Arizona
Kyle Ostendorp               University of Arizona

The Wildcats prepare to host rival Arizona State on Friday, Nov. 25 at 1 p.m. in the 96th matchup for the Territorial Cup at Arizona Stadium. The game will be broadcast on FS1. 

Print Friendly Version