Jay Shah, Sachin Tendulkar to felicitate Indian women’s U-19 team in Ahmedabad following World Cup triumph

Pursuing a historic 7-wicket earn more than England in the just lately-concluded Women’s Less than-19 T20 Earth Cup on Sunday, the Indian group will be felicitated at the freshly built Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad on Wednesday, February 1st. Jay Shah, BCCI’s secretary informed about this in a tweet, adding veteran Indian cricketer Sachin Tendulkar along with other BCCI office bearers will be existing all through the ceremony that will choose position at 6:30 PM – one hour just before the get started of the determining T20I among India and New Zealand at the similar venue. Other than, shortly following the gain, Shah also tweeted inviting the women’s group to come and view the 3rd T20I including that this homogenous acquire calls for a celebration.


When all members of the Indian contingent will be current at the ceremony, two players including the captain Shafali Verma and Richa Gosh – who are now element of the senior workforce for the upcoming Women’s T20 Globe Cup, will be missing.

Young guns enter historical past books

Never right before this second experienced any Indian women’s cricket group at any stage gained a globe cup. Towards England in the remaining of the initially of its variety celebration, the Indian women’s crew gained the toss and elected to bowl initial. Courtesy a handsome performance with the ball, they dismissed England on mere 68 in 17 overs.

Chasing this tiny total was never heading to be tricky for the Shafali Verma–led group who took 14 overs to assert a gain. In the meantime, opener Shweta Sehrawat remained the prime operate-getter with 297 runs to her identify at an ordinary of 99.

Time for the seniors to get the occupation finished

Subsequent the good results at the junior level, it is now time for the senior women’s team to repeat the heroics in the course of the T20 Earth Cup in South Africa slated to get started on February 10th. Positioned in group B along with Pakistan, England, Ireland and West Indies, India will engage in their opener from the arch-rivals on Sunday, February 12th in Newlands, Cape City.